Washington County Chapter
Ohio Genealogical Society

PO Box 2174
Marietta, OH  45750-7174


Washington County, Ohio, in 1881


Washington County, OH, lies in Appalachian southeastern Ohio along the Ohio River.  It is one of the original counties of Ohio and at that time stretched from the Ohio River in the south to Lake Erie in the north.  The county seat is Marietta, where the Muskingum River flows into the Ohio.  The other city is Belpre.  The current 22 townships are Adams, Aurelius, Barlow, Belpre, Decatur, Dunham, Fairfield, Fearing, Grandview, Independence, Lawrence, Liberty, Ludlow, Marietta, Muskingum, Newport, Palmer, Salem, Warren, Waterford, Watertown, and Wesley.  Former townships include, among others, Middletown, Jolly, Newton, Plainfield, Roxbury, Tuskarora, Union, and Wooster.

Washington County, OH, is bordered on the west by Athens County, on the northwest by Morgan County, on the north by Noble County, and on the northeast by Monroe County.  Across the Ohio River it is bordered on the south mostly by Wood County, West Virginia, and slightly by Pleasants County, West Virginia, to the east.

The Ohio, Muskingum, and Little Hocking Rivers, forests, coal mines, farming bottoms, hilly livestock grazing areas, and petroleum have supported many of Washington County's occupations.  Together with the Yankee merchants and craftsmen who were the first English settlers in Marietta, English farmers in Aurelius Township, German farmers in Fearing and Salem Townships and laborers in Marietta, Scottish sheep farmers in Barlow and Warren Townships, Irish farmers in Ludlow Township and railroad workers in Marietta, Jewish merchants and professionals in Marietta, African-American farmers and laborers in Decatur, Fairfield, and  Wesley Townships, and Belgian glass workers in Marietta are among the settlement groups that have contributed to the economy of Washington County, Ohio.

Maps of Ohio and Washington County, Ohio

Interactive Historical Ohio County Boundaries Scroll down page

1785 map of Northwest Territory (northwest of the Ohio River)

1785 MapThe Old Seven Ranges

1804 Ohio Atlas Map

1814 Ohio Atlas Map

1822 Map of Ohio from LeSage's Atlas

1836 Map of Ohio from New Universal Atlas

1845 Ohio Atlas Map

1858 Lorey map of Washington County, Ohio

1866 Ohio Atlas Map

1871 Map of the Marietta and Pittsburgh Railroad

1873 Guide Map to Ohio

1785 Lake's Atlas Map of Washington County
Index to the 1785 map (PDF document)

1877 map of Marietta and Harmar, Ohio (may require turning off popup blocker)

1877 maps of Ohio River and Ohio River towns

1895 Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps from Ohio (You will need a current Ohio library card number (OPLIN)

Beverly1895 Sanborn Fire Insurance Map (Library of Congress)

1914 Map of Washington County, Ohio

Current Road Map of Washington County, Ohio (ODOT)

Current Water Resource Map of Washington & Morgan Counties, Ohio (ODNR)

Current Ohio Mines (ODNR)

The above links are provided as a public service.
Each Web site is responsible for its own content.

Articles | Books | Contact | Families | First Families | Genealogy  | Geography | History | Home | Links | Meetings | Membership | Officers | Projects | Publications | Research | Societies | Towns